Been quite a while since my last posting due to my far-too- busy job. Before I go crazy between my recovery from the flu-like virus that's kicking my tail and planning for my daughter's forthcoming oral surgery, I am posting to vent my utter frustration.
For the life of me, I don't understand why I work so hard just to maintain health insurance coverage that effectively covers next to nothing of the costs of health care. It leaves me wondering where I've gone wrong in providing for myself and my family, even though I was strongly advised as a young person to work in state government because the state "takes care of its own." Not the case anymore!
My child is scheduled to have all four of her impacted wisdom teeth extracted the end of this week at a cost of nearly $2,000, of which my insurance will cover a little over $430. To say the least, I'm angry. When the insurance representative I spoke to by phone had the audacity to tell me it'd be easier if I was covered by their more primo dental plan, which I couldn't afford when I had six people on the plan & STILL don't think I can budget for, I nearly lost it...and she was made quite aware what I think of the lousy coverage and how unfair it is that the oral surgeon merely looks on me as another creditor rather than a customer to be satisfied. HIS staff advised me to apply for "Care Credit," which is overseen by G.E. Capital, a firm for which I have very low regard & go out of my way to pay off quickly when I have anything owed to them because of their excessive interest rates on everything. (Check out their web site if you don't believe me; their interest rate is, I kid you not, 26% plus!)
I think it's time the United States got its priorities straight and took care of its citizens in terms of medical costs. THIS isn't doing it for me; I can only imagine what it'd be like if I were on one of the government-run programs like Medicaid, which is also being hacked to pieces and charges up front before even allowing you in to see a provider.